Skip to content

Southwestern Team Championship This Weekend

December 3, 2010

Morley Field will be the site of the 30th Annual Southwestern Team Disc Golf Championship, played Saturday Dec. 4th and Sunday Dec. 5th.  This unique event pits teams from eight different disc golf communities in the Southwestern U.S. in a round-robin, match play tournament.  This year teams from the following locations will be participating: Huntington Beach, Oak Grove (Pasadena), Sylmar, Santa Cruz, Redwood Empire, Arizona and two teams from San Diego.

Teams are made up of 12 players, including Open Men, Masters (age 40+) Men, Grandmaster (50+) Men and Open Women.  The San Diego #1 team is made up of Micah Dorius, Carlo Pelg, Josh Dameron, Angel Garcia, Mike Brown, Dave Devine, Mike Slonim, John Heaton, Paul Morgavo, Jeff Nichols, Snapper Pierson and Kayleen Boyle.  San Diego’s #2 team consists of George Spracklen, Cody Kirkland, Mike Lust, Kevin Gomez, Luke Christensen, Mike Ramos, Dan Shorkey, Mike Westerman, Dean Porter, Randy Wylot, Phil Ganshert and Emily Hardy.  Several world-class players will be coming in from out of town, including former World Champion Avery Jenkins (Santa Cruz), Steve Rico (Sylmar), Paul Ulibarri (Arizona) and Paul McBeth (Huntington Beach).

Morley Field will be closed to regular play most of the day Saturday and Sunday morning until about 1pm.  But this is a great opportunity to see some of the best disc golfers in the world play our most popular local course.  See you there!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: